Another Step of Faith

I’ve mentioned previously on here that I’ve struggled over the years with how God can allow bad things to happen.

I wrote about my revelation in A Step of Faith that God is good, though bad things still happen.  And in my Follow Up that God loves me and can use those bad things for His purposes. 

I made another step in my journey in regards to this as I was reading Beth Moore’s Get Out of That Pit recently.  She said, “Beloved, let this one sink in deeply: if God allowed you to be thrown into a pit, you weren’t picked on; you were picked out. God entrusted that suffering to you because He has faith in you. Live up to it.”

I read and re-read the paragraph about 10 times before it fully sank in.  For the first time ever, I saw my trials through a different set of lenses.  Could it really be that God chose me to go through those things – not as inflicted punishment but instead because He believes in me enough to entrust them to my care?  In essence, could the very difficulties in my life I’ve used as evidence that He doesn’t love me actually be proof that He does and has faith in me?

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I don’t claim to have this all figured out.  But I feel like I made another step in this journey of healing and understanding.

~ by Serena on June 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
