Fully Present

I love having conversations with my friend Janet.  She looks me in the eye.  She nods.  She laughs and cries with me.  In those moments that we get together, she is fully present with me.  I have 100% of her undivided attention.  And I love it. It makes me feel special, like I’m a priority for her.  Like she cherishes every moment that we have together.

On the other hand, I have some friends who mid-conversation will be checking their email/text messages on their phones.  I’m clearly not the priority…the person on the other end of their technology is.  (I understand that in times of emergency, sometimes you need to be tied to your phone.  I get it.  But to consistently be ignored gets old.)

I’ll admit that I, too, have done the same from time to time.  It’s in my moments of frustration (like now) that I try to remind myself to be fully present since that’s what I desire from others.

Are you fully present when you’re with people?

~ by Serena on June 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Fully Present”

  1. I certainly try to be. I think it’s important.

  2. Texting non-stop is one of my biggest pet peeves. I know people who text constantly and can’t hold a face to face conversation. Really, no one is that important that they can’t leave the cell phone alone for a few minutes to have a real conversation. Unfortunately, conversation is becoming a lost art. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
