Faith, Hope, and…Outcomes

A few weeks ago, one of my friends e-mailed asking me to pray for a medical miracle. 

I prayed diligently.  I quickly recognized, however, that my prayers were less for a specific outcome and more that God’s will would be done; that those involved would feel strength and peace; that He would glorified somehow through this difficult situation.

I deeply desired that miracle.  I wanted for God to come through in a mighty way – in a way that only He can.  Yet a large part of my heart struggled to hope.  It wasn’t that I didn’t think He could do it.  On the contrary, I believed that God COULD perform that miracle.  It was absolutely, 100% within His capable powers. 

…but I didn’t think He would.  Because, sadly, life doesn’t always turn out the way we want.  Sometimes bad things happen to good people. 

Was I just being pessimistic?  Did I not have enough faith?  Or was it that my ability to hope had been damaged somewhere along the way?  (Admittedly, as a survivor, one of my coping mechanisms became the words of Elphaba from Wicked, “Don’t wish, don’t start.  Wishing only wounds the heart.”) 

I was discussing the situation with a trusted friend, who proverbially turned on a lightbulb for me.  “Our faith needs to be in God, not the outcome.” 

My prayers changed.  I begged God for that miracle.  I pleaded at the throne of Grace for Him to heal my friend.  I promised that I would put my hope in Him, not in a certain outcome.

Unfortunately, the miracle didn’t happen.  But that hasn’t lessened my trust in Him.  I have faith that God CAN still heal – and that He has a good and perfect plan even when He doesn’t.  I will continue to hope and pray for miracles, but I will trust in Him, regardless of the outcomes.

“May the God of Hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” -Romans 15:13

~ by Serena on June 14, 2010.

One Response to “Faith, Hope, and…Outcomes”

  1. Very Powerful! I need to hear this today!

Leave a Reply

 
