How Losing an Earring Made My Day

“Did you know you only have in one earring?” my friend Amy asked.

No.  I immediately began patting down my clothes and looking on the ground around where I was standing.  I traced my steps back to my desk.  No earring. 

Drat!  Posing as a pirate just wouldn’t do.  After work I was scheduled to speak to our high school students, and I wasn’t planning on going home before then. 

So on my lunch hour, I ran to Kohls to pick up a new pair.  While I was there, I noticed a 70% off sale rack.  It was too good to pass up. 

I pulled out a black wool coat.  Just a few months earlier, I had noticed when I put away my royal blue wool coat for the season that it was starting to show its 5 years of wear.  I did some minor searching for coats at the time, but I was not willing to pay $60-80 for one, even on sale.

I slipped on the black coat.  To my surprise, it fit perfectly! 

But how much was it?  There were no tags hanging on it anywhere. 

I approached the checkout counter with my earrings and coat for a price check.  After searching inside the coat to find some numbers to key in, the clerk said, “Your $180 coat is now $18… 90% off!” 

“I’ll take it!” I exclaimed.

…and that’s how losing an earring made my day! 🙂

~ by Serena on June 9, 2010.

One Response to “How Losing an Earring Made My Day”

  1. Wow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
