JFK & Jackie

May 29 is John F. Kennedy’s birthday. 

Not an avid fan of politics or history, I never really knew much about him until I visited the JFK museum while I was in Dallas.  It was fascinating to learn more about his life, presidency, death, and the conspiracies surrounding it. 

I was perhaps most taken by his wife, Jackie. She always seemed so proper and polished, not to mention well dressed.  I watched video clips of her standing proudly by his side while he was giving speeches.  Sometimes she would say a few words (in another language, even!) when he was finished. 

I sat in silence as I watched footage from her husband’s funeral.  Not only had she just lost her husband (and was suddenly faced with the challenge of becoming a single parent), she was left to mourn on national television.  Then again, not much is private if you’re part of the Presidential family, so I guess it comes with the territory.  But still.  She handled it with grace and dignity, as a lady should.

Here’s to you, John F. Kennedy and Jackie Kennedy Onassis!

~ by Serena on May 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
