Time Trials

This weekend will be the 94th running of the Indianapolis 500.  Two weekends ago, I was given free tickets to go to the time trials.  (Thanks, Regal!)

I’ve never really been a race fan.  (In fact, I had never even been to the track, except to run on it during the Mini.)  So I was excited to see what the fuss was all about!

Due to communication mishaps (it’s only what I do for a living) and issues with our tickets, we ended up being given silver passes for the day, which allowed us access pretty much anywhere.  We meandered through the garages, where the cars were being worked on before returning to the track.  We dodged crew members as we hung out in pit row.  We chillaxed in our private suite above pit row, watching as the cars raced for the top speed.

It was neat to be allowed such privileges and to say that I’ve done it, but I’ll be honest.  The experience was lost on me.  My boss nearly drooled as he learned that I watched Danica peel out of pit row merely 6 feet in front of me.  Or that I could have reached out and touched (or talked to or gotten an autograph from) Helio Castroneves, the winner of last year’s 500.  Or that I drove in a race car simulator (that successfully proved that I have no future in racing).

So was this all enough to make me a race fan?  Probably not.  But it was still a very cool experience.

~ by Serena on May 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
