Wisdom from Ortberg

Two weeks ago, I was privileged to attend a luncheon with author John Ortberg.  Here are a few nuggets of wisdom I jotted down during his talk:

-As Christians, we know that we’re saved by grace, yet we think we’re saved by our works.  Living by grace is learned behavior.

-The measure of your devotion to Christ is not measured by your devotional life.  Example: A stay-at-home Mom rarely has time to do devotions, yet she is likely depending on Him daily as she develops patience and servanthood.

-Oftentimes, we feel a certain level of guilt if we don’t do or like a spiritual practice.  If it helps you grow, then do it!  If not, don’t beat yourself up for it.

-As you grow, you will always be you.  An acorn can grow into a mighty or rotten oak…not a rosebush.  Be who God created you to be.

-What do I look like when I’m flowing with the Spirit?  What cuts that off?  I must monitor the well being of my soul.

For more, check out Ortberg’s new book, The Me I Want to Be.

~ by Serena on May 19, 2010.

One Response to “Wisdom from Ortberg”

  1. Thank you John is one of my favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

 
