Cali & Cake

“CAKE!” she exclaimed.  Her blue eyes were as big as saucers as she spied the lonely piece of leftover birthday cake on the counter.

Cali likes loves cake.

“Whose piece of cake is that?  Is it Daddy’s?” she whispered in my ear.

Cali had just finished eating a bowl of spaghetti and a large piece of cake.  But apparently it wasn’t enough for her four-year-old self.

“I don’t know.  It’s not mine,” I responded.

Her eyes remained focused on the white cake with pink icing.  I could see the wheels turning.

“It could be MINE,” she said.

I laughed until I cried.

~ by Serena on May 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
