Mother’s Day

Last year, I went to the church I grew up in for Mother’s Day. As they do each year, they asked congregants who were “great great grandmas” to stand, then “great grandmas” then “grandmas” and (finally) “moms.”  Each woman was recognized with a flower, book, and applause. 

I sat, warming my seat, reminded of what I’m not.  Of something that I may never be.  And my heart ached. 

As I’ve looked back on the experience, I realized that I am probably not the only one aching on Mother’s Day, as there are those whose Moms are no longer around.  Maybe the mere sight of a Mother’s Day greeting card section at Hallmark is a painful reminder of something you don’t have.  And it hurts. 

To those people (though I don’t fully understand), I offer this:  Let God mother you.  We often  picture God in the masculine form, but I firmly believe that God is big enough to mother us and to fill those aches in our hearts.

“As a mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you.” -Isaiah 66:13

~ by Serena on May 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. Wonderful comments, Serena. At least you sat, “warming your seat!” 🙂 I went to church this morning, but ended up leaving after only 10 minutes in the service because I just couldn’t handle any more talk on mother/familyhood, etc. After the comment “If there’s an ache or hole in your heart you can still be involved in the Sunday School or children’s ministry” I nearly broke down into tears right then and there…but fortunately made it out the door and to the bathroom and then out of the church for good, for the rest of the service. ‘Sure wish people were more sensitive to know that it hurts and well-meaning comments don’t change that hurt. Fortunately, we have a God who is a Master of healing hurts and promises to heal broken hearts…if not now, then eternally, someday.

    • I’m so sorry, Anna. I try to remember Psalm 84:11 “No good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless.” Maybe our unfulfilled desires force us to depend on Him more to meet our needs? Although I don’t fully understand, I share your ache.

  2. What a wonderful verse and reminder. So often I’ve seen further “down the road” how He has used uncertainties and pain for good…not necessarily understanding in the difficult times, but later seeing His work further down the road. Surely He does work all things for good for those who love Him! (Romans 8:28) Even when we may not necessarily understand, He always does and is piecing together His perfect plans in the lives of His children! Perhaps this too is a part of faith — that trusting Him wholeheartedly, like Job, even amidst pain. For what would faith be if life were always full of sunshine and we never had to trust Him for anything? I’m also remembering the verse in Habakkuk, “Though the fig tree does not bud and though there are no grapes on the vines…yet I WILL rejoice in God my Savior!”

Leave a Reply

 
