Tacky Prom

A friend recently purchased a new home, so she had a house-warming party.  She wanted to make it a fun event, so she themed it Tacky Prom.

I wasn’t sure what I was looking for to wear to said Tacky Prom until I walked into Goodwill.  That’s when I saw it: the most perfect, tacky prom dress EVER.  It was straight out of the early 90s – big, poofy sleeves, drop waist, sweetheart neckline, and a God-awful color (for me).  Between my $5 gem of a dress, my side ponytail, and blue eyeshadow up to my eyebrows, I’d say I accomplished my goal. 

My boyfriend looked like he was from circa 1950 with his black horned-rimmed glasses.  He tackily clashed with my red by wearing a burgundy old-school jacket with a pink plaid tie.  He even wore his old retainer!

…tacky, we were!

~ by Serena on May 6, 2010.

4 Responses to “Tacky Prom”

  1. How very lovely – thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. I love that picture!

  3. I LOVE this picture and your dress is…priceless!

  4. Hehe… fun times! I’ve already re-donated it back to Goodwill, otherwise I could wear it in your wedding, Em! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
