Pale

One of my biggest pet peeves is when a person compares their skin tone to mine.  I’m a redhead, and I’m pale.  Do you really want to feel that much better about your tan that you would compare your arm to that of someone who’s Elmer’s Glue white? 

Occasionally, I’ll get some color on my arms.  It’s called a sunburn.  It usually blisters and peels, only to reveal more skin that’s likely to rival that of Casper the Friendly Ghost.

I stopped trying a long time ago. 

I laid out in high school, desperate to get a tan.  It didn’t work.  Instead, I just tripled my freckle count. 

Only once in my life have I done the tanning thing. I was bound and determined to not be the palest person at my senior prom.  I really had to work at it, starting at 2 minutes in the tanning bed and working my way up from there.  And, by golly, it worked.  For the first time ever, I sported a tan.  And I was darned proud of it.  But, even then, it didn’t come close to comparing to that of my darker-complected friends.

I’m sure that I also acquired skin cancer with my desperate attempts.  But as an 18-year-old, I thought it was worth it.

So, next time you desire to flaunt your amazing tan, please fight the urge to compare it to mine.  If you don’t, you’ll likely get a nasty glare and eye roll.  Consider yourself warned.

~ by Serena on May 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Pale”

  1. You and me both. I once had a co-worker (who worked at the tanning salon as a 2nd job) offer me a free tan, as though she pitied my white skin. I just told her that I was white and that was just how I was. That ended that.

    On the upside of being white-as-white-can-be, all the tanners are going to be the first ones with wrinkled up skin in their early “older” years. Tan now = more wrinkles later.

    I’ll take white skin to be more youthful looking, especially going on 30….and I don’t doubt that I’ll appreciate the fewer wrinkles at 50 and 60 too. 🙂

    So next time someone shows you their amazing tan you can tell them how amazingly old they are going to look with a full set of wrinkles in a few years (just kidding…we would never be that mean!!!! 🙂 )

    But seriously…no tan = fewer wrinkles and more youthful looking

Leave a Reply

 
