The Comparison Game

It’s that time of year again.  The Indy Mini-Marathon is 9 days away, which means I’ve been training for about 5 months.  I’m tired.  I’m burned out.  And frankly, I’m ready to stop being so disciplined.

On the other hand, I’ve known people to barely train (at all) and finish with a better time than me.  It makes me want to vomit – and question why I put myself through this.  I mean, if I’m not a natural athlete, why am I forcing my body to do something that’s so unnatural?

I do it for fitness.  For the satisfaction of achieving a (somewhat lofty) goal.  For the thrill of participating in the largest mini-marathon in the world that happens to practically be in my back yard.

I fully realize that I’m not going to beat any Kenyans any time soon.  And yet I can’t help but compare myself to others.  It’s easy to do.  And, honestly, I’m really good at it.

At times I’ve coveted friends’ relationships/marriages.  Other times, I’ve coveted friends’ spiritual gifts, talents, abilities, incomes, popularity, homes, bodies, cars, and shoes.

And yet when my focus is on other people, I’m ignoring the blessings He has given me.  Maybe He – and what He HAS given me – needs to be enough for me. 

“No lusting after your neighbor’s house – or wife or servant or maid or ox or donkey. Don’t set your heart on anything that is your neighbor’s.” -Exodus 20:17 (The Message)

~ by Serena on April 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
