My Book

I’ve been writing a book for the last eight years.  I use the term “writing a book” loosely. 

I first felt the desire to write a book in college.  “Everyone’s writing a book,” one of my college professors said.  “You can only say that you are writing a book if you have the title or if you’ve started writing.”  So I came up with a title.

I didn’t actually start writing the book until three years ago.  I couldn’t sleep one night, so I pulled out my laptop and started typing.  As of right now, I only have a few chapters written and a rough sketch of an outline.

After my biopsy scare, I became more motivated to make this dream become a reality.  I had lunch a few weeks ago with a fellow writer friend who recently picked up an agent with one of her manuscripts.  She was gracious enough to let me pick her brain about book publishing.

“I feel like I have a book inside of me,” I described to her. 

“Then get it out. You must write it,” she said.

I walked away from our time together both discouraged and encouraged.  It was discouraging to hear how laborious it can be to even pick up an agent, let alone get a publisher to print your book and actually get it on the shelves of a store.  And yet I was overly encouraged at the practical advice she gave me about books/blogs to read, conferences to attend, and timelines to not have.

Near the end of our time together – after I shared with her my title, idea, and vision for the book – she looked me square in the eyes and said, “I feel like I’m supposed to tell you to write this book.  I don’t claim to hear God speaking to me often, but I really feel like I’m to encourage you to do this.”

As of right now, I’m just a girl (who happens to love God and shoes) with a laptop, a passion for writing, and a dream.  We’ll see how/if God opens the doors.

~ by Serena on April 23, 2010.

One Response to “My Book”

  1. […] Finish a manuscript of my book […]

Leave a Reply

 
