Prayer

I was helping watch kiddos at church a few weeks ago.  Before the snack, we asked if any of them wanted to pray.  Multiple 5-and-6-year-old hands shot up in the air.  Tyler was the lucky, chosen one.

“Dear God,” he began.  “Please help my brother to not take my things.  Oh, and thank you for your blessings. Amen.”

The (precious) situation got me thinking about my own prayer life and how it has evolved greatly over the years.  Our family always prayed before meals and before bed, and my prayer was usually a variation of “Dear God, thank you for Mom and Dad and Sheryl and David and me.  And thank you for this food.  Amen.”

In High School, I prayed more for God’s help or assistance.  “Help me do well on this test” or “Please let me make the cheerleading squad.”

In college, I learned more about how to pray…the ACTS model.  Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, Supplication, all of which are elements to include in prayer…and began talking to God more personally as we developed our relationship.

Today, my prayer life is more of a constant dialogue with God.  One thing that I’ve found beneficial to help remind me to pray throughout the day is to put a sticky note on my desk at work, where I place names of people to pray for.  I see it multiple times a day – and pray for whichever name I happen to see.  At other times throughout the day, I’ll say a prayer over the whole list … or go down the note name by name.

Another random thing I do is when I hear a siren, I pray for that situation (which is often since I live by police and fire stations).  

What does your prayer life look like?

~ by Serena on April 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
