Lent (Not the bellybutton kind)

The end of this week – Holy Week – marks the completion of Lent, a time to prepare our hearts for Easter. 

Some people commit those 40 days to “giving something up” as a form of self-denial.  As a freshman in college, I fasted from any use of AOL Instant Messenger.  It was a communication tool that consumed far too many hours of my time, time that could have been better put to use praying or studying.  At the end of that time, I deleted my account and never looked back. 

Another year I gave up chocolate.  I’ve never craved it so much in my entire life.  (And I definitely indulged in much of it that Easter!)

I didn’t fast from anything this year.  I prayerfully considered it, but I didn’t necessarily feel led.  However, some of my friends gave up Facebook.  One guy I know gave up alcohol.  Another gave up pop (or soda, for you New Englanders).

Did you give up anything for Lent?

~ by Serena on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
