In the Aftermath…

In the aftermath of my biopsy scare, I can now see that there were good things that came out of the situation, even beyond the diagnosis…

I felt loved.  After I told my boss about my upcoming procedure, he stopped dead in his tracks and prayed for me.  I received encouraging emails from friends telling me they were praying.  Likewise, I got supportive texts while I was in the biopsy room.  It’s good to be loved.

-I evaluated my life.  In the moments where I allowed my mind to consider the worst-case scenario (“What if I only have a few weeks to live?”), there was one overly-pressing item on my heart: an overwhelming sense that I must write my book.  I’ve loosely been writing a chapter here and there over the past few years, but the urgency I felt has kicked me in the pants.  I’ve started doing some preliminary research about bookwriting, publishing, and agents.  It’s time.

-I reached out.  Multiple friends offered to go with me for the procedure, but I didn’t want to burden them. (I didn’t want anyone in the room with me, so my logic was that they would seemingly be wasting their time in the waiting room.)  I’m well aware that I have a tendency to be independent and not ask for help, even when I need/want it.  My counselor helped me realize that by asking someone to be there, I would not only be offering myself some much-needed comfort, I would be blessing them by allowing them to be there to support me.  After praying about it, I invited my dear friend Janet.  Her presence, hugs, and encouraging words meant more than I ever imagined.  As usual, my counselor was right.  🙂

~ by Serena on March 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
