On Leave

A bouquet of white daisies with a single red rose was all he carried.  He stood waiting at the Arriving Passengers sign at the airport. 

“Are those for a girlfriend?” I asked, curiously.

“Yeah, she’s coming in from Charlotte, NC.” 

“Oh, you’re doing the long distance thing?”

“Yes.  It’s usually a lot longer distance since I’m on leave from Iraq.  I haven’t seen her in 9 months.”

His eyes lit up as he spoke of her and their three-year relationship.

“Is she the one?” I pried. 

“I’m pretty sure,” he said.  “I want to get through my time in the Army before I marry her.”

“Thank you for serving in the military,” I said. 

“Oh, it’s no big deal,” he replied.  I quickly learned that he serves as a platoon leader, which he described as “Just police work.  It’s not dangerous.” 

That’s when he saw her.  Their eyes locked.  He leapt from his seat ran in her direction.  They embraced and kissed as he twirled her in his arms.  It looked like it came straight out of a movie. 

He waved good-bye to me as they walked away.  “Enjoy your two weeks together!” I said.

I’m pretty sure they did. 🙂

~ by Serena on March 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “On Leave”

  1. I love…

    I’m here from Amy Sorrells’ blog. Thanks for sharing your story there. You have an incredible story.

    • Thanks, Kelly! It’s definitely not what I had planned for my life, but I can say with confidence that God has used it for good. He’s cool like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
