That Which I Did Not Do…

I was driving to church a few weeks ago.  I slowed down as I approached a red stoplight.  A woman was crossing the street ahead of me and was halfway across, so I motioned for her to continue on her way.  But she didn’t.

As I rolled to a stop, she approached my car and motioned for me to roll down my window.

 “Please, ma’am,” she pleaded.  “My kids are hungry and need milk and bread.”

“I don’t carry any cash.  I’m sorry,” I said.

“Please, ma’am,” she repeated.  “There’s a Kroger a few blocks down.”

I glanced at the glowing red light in front of me – and the clock.  I was already running late.

The light turned green.  “I’m sorry, I can’t help you,” I replied, as my foot hit the gas.

I was only a few blocks away when guilt started sinking in.  This woman was probably homeless and without her next meal.  Meanwhile, I was more concerned with being on time for church than passing on the love and grace from our Father whom I was going to worship.  I’m guessing God probably would have forgiven my tardiness had I taken her to the grocery store. 

Tears flooded my eyes as I recalled Matthew 25:45 “That which you did not do for the least of these, you did not do for me.”

God, I’m so sorryPlease send someone less self-centered to help her.

My selfish act consumed my thoughts all through church.  I could think of little else, including the sermon.  I felt like I failed Him.  I had to make it right.

I drove by the same intersection looking for her on my way home, but she was nowhere to be found.  Admittedly, I’ve beaten myself up over the situation numerous times in the last few weeks.  I pray for her every time I drive through that intersection, but I still can’t help but feel like I failed because of that which I did not do…

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink.” -Matthew 25:35

~ by Serena on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
