Control

As I’ve mentioned before, Desperate Housewives is one of my favorite TV shows.  For the most part, I love laughing at its over-the-top-ness.  And yet, even in the midst of its drama, it’s often laced with truths.

A few episodes ago, Lynnette, a high-powered business woman, was accused of essentially “wearing the pants in the family” and pretty much running all over her husband, Tom.  When he was asked why he lets her do it, he responded, “Lynnette had it rough as a kid.  She was forced to grow up as a child and take care of her family…She learned that she needed to be in control in order for things to not fall apart.  As her husband, if that makes her feel more safe, that’s the least I can do.” 

I can relate to Lynette.  The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I’ve become more of a control freak since my divorce.  If I control everything, things are less likely to go awry, right?  I guess it stands to reason why I battle it, but that doesn’t make it right. 

Are you a control freak?

~ by Serena on February 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
