MetLife

I had a question about my dental coverage a few weeks ago, so I called Metlife’s 1-800 number.

I only sought clarity on one simple question that probably could have been asked and answered in less than a minute if I could have reached a person on the other end of the line.  Instead, an automated phone system picked up.

“If you would like information on your dental plan coverage, press 1.  If you have claim inquiries/requests, press 2.  For participating MetLife dentists, press 3.  For …”

I didn’t want any of those.  I wanted to talk to a person.  But that wasn’t an option.  So I pressed 1, which quickly resulted in a dead end and being transferred back to the Main Menu.

After entering nearly every number combination possible, I was finally transferred to a Call Center.  Had I finally reached the light at the end of the tunnel?  Was I really, truly going to reach a living, breathing human being who would be well-educated in dental coverage and would be able to answer my question in mere seconds?

My bubble was quickly burst when I received another recording.  “The Call Center is now closed.  Please call during our normal business hours of 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m.” 

What time did I call?  3:23 p.m.

Not only did I waste approximately 7 minutes of my life, I successfully raised my blood pressure, AND I didn’t get my question answered.

Grrr…

~ by Serena on February 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
