Excess

A guy I know from church has spent the last few weeks in Haiti.  One of his Facebook status updates recently said,”Spent some time in a tent village today.  Unbelievable.  People are living in homes made out of sticks and trash.”

I read it, sitting comfortably in my plush chair in my heated workspace in one of the richest counties in the world.  I literally can’t imagine what that would be like, seeing as how I live in a world of excess. 

Jungle Jim’s is a supermarket-on-steroids in Cincinnati.  They are known for their selection of 1,400 hot sauces.  Oh – but wait – there’s more!  Not only do they have honey from every state in the U.S., they boast 12,000 varieties of wine from around the world. 

But it’s not just limited to Jungle Jim’s.  Within a 5 mile radius around my house, there are 9 McDonalds I can choose from.  Over 20 gas stations.  Over 12 grocery stores (not including CVS-type places that also sell groceries).  9 Starbucks.  3 Hallmarks.  And a partridge in a pear tree.

I can’t help but feel a twinge (or 20) of guilt that while people in Haiti struggle to find a stable, temporary roof to put over their heads, I find myself in a world of excess.

~ by Serena on February 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
