The Bachelor

Caveat:  For those of you who may not have heard about this, please don’t be offended.  I chose to not tell many people for obvious reasons…

“Serena, my name is Ashley, and I’m calling from the TV Show, The Bachelor.” 

I pulled my cell phone away from my ear and looked at the number.  “Is this a joke?”

It wasn’t.  Ashley proceeded to explain that one of my friends had nominated me online for the show.  And, based on the picture and write-up they sent, The Bachelor was very interested in me being one of their 25 females for the next show, the one that’s currently airing on ABC on Monday nights.

“As soon as we hang up the phone, I’ll email you all the information I’m about to tell you.” 

She did.  She sent a 5-page written application (asking everything from my height/weight to if I had ever filed for bankruptcy), a consent form (pretty much saying anything I submit to them became their property), and 2 pages of instructions for the video they wanted.

“We love you on paper, but we want to get to know you better.  So, send us a video about your life – where you work, what you do, where you live, show us your personality. If you make it past the video portion, we’ll fly you out to L.A. to interview with the producers.  If you make the show, it films in October.  Do you have any questions?”

Questions?  I had a million swirling through my head.  But the only one that I was able to formulate into a sentence was, “How many girls are you asking to do videos?”

“I can’t tell you a number, but I can tell you that I am one of two people making calls to the girls right now.  We’re VERY interested in you.  Thanks again, Miss Duke.  We look forward to getting to know you!”

I hung up the phone.  Did that really just happen?   

Questions consumed me over the next few days.  Did I really want to date a guy on national television who was also dating 24 other women at the same time?  What were the odds they would choose a bachelor who was a strong Christian?

In the end, I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to submit a video – because even then I could still decide to not do the show.  And I never wanted to wonder if I would have made it.  So I recruited the help of my videographer co-worker, and we went to work.  I was very open about my faith.  In the end, that may have been what kept me making the show.  Or the fact that I’m 5’3” and not a model.

After watching the last several episodes, I am grateful I didn’t make the cut.  I’m very flattered that I was called in the first place – that I was one of I-don’t-know-how-many women who were asked to make a video.  In the end, I feel like God protected me from a lot of drama and cattiness.

Thanks, God… 

~ by Serena on February 1, 2010.

One Response to “The Bachelor”

  1. Though it was probably best for you not to be on the show, i would have love to be part of the family when Jake came home to meet the fam. I would have grilled the heck out of him!

Leave a Reply

 
