Julie & Julia

I watched the movie Julie & Julia recently.  I was immediately drawn in, perhaps because I relate to so well to Julie.  Like her, I…

have red hair.
write a blog.
set lofty goals. 
occasionally have meltdowns.
overanalyze.  
get disappointed when things go wrong. 

After watching Julie (& Julia’s) mad cooking skills, I was somewhat inspired.  I have a cabinet full of cookbooks, many I haven’t cracked open since my marriage (unless I somehow dropped them during the move). 

I decided I need to think outside the (microwave meal) box.  Try new recipes.  Challenge my un-domesticated diet.  Think less “I’ll just pop a frozen pizza in the oven” and more “I’ll just pop open my cookbook and see what I might have ingredients for.”

Stay tuned… I’m sure I’ll update you on my cuisine successes – and failures. 🙂

~ by Serena on January 28, 2010.

3 Responses to “Julie & Julia”

  1. oh, I look forward to hearing your thoughts and “experiments”! My favorite online recipe finder is http://www.allrecipes.com – I like reading people’s comments and ideas for recipes that sound good. 🙂

  2. I’ll check it out! Thanks, Angie!

  3. […] (Other movies I really enjoyed that weren’t released in 2010 include The Blind Side, The Hurt Locker, and Julie & Julia.) […]

Leave a Reply

 
