26.2

A few weeks ago, my friend Kelly ran in the Walt Disney World Marathon.  She finished 26.2 miles in 4 hours and 19 minutes.

The journey wasn’t purely magical.  It was 29 degrees when the race started.  By mile 4, she finally regained feeling in her toes.

In preparation for the race, Kelly asked people to pray for her during certain times.  My time was 7:30 a.m. during mile 11.  I couldn’t have requested a better mile to pray for.  In my half-marathons, it was usually during miles 10 and 11 that I hit a wall.  I was tired and ready to quit.  It was awesome to visualize her during that time as she exited Cinderella’s castle and help pray her through.

Congratulations, Kelly!  I’m so proud of you!  🙂

~ by Serena on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
