Dallas, Texas

The pilot’s voice came over the speakers on the plane, “There’s a blizzard in Dallas, so we’ll be landing in San Antonio.  We’ll keep you updated.”

A blizzard… in Dallas?

My boyfriend slept soundly to my right.  I decided to let him sleep; there was no sense in both of us panicking.

When Sleeping Beauty finally roused from his slumber, I filled him in on the situation.  “There’s a blizzard in Dallas, so we’re landing in San Antonio.”  I could see the wheels turning.

“I’m not kidding,” I offered.  “There’s a blizzard in Dallas, so the pilot said we’re landing in San Antonio.”

The blizzard limited the Dallas airport to one runway, so we stopped in San Antonio to re-fuel.  We made it safe and sound to Dallas, just later than we originally planned.

I was only 900 miles from home, but in many ways I felt like I was in a different world, one where they say “y’all,” wear cowboy boots, and love snow (his family had never had a white Christmas prior to 2009).  We didn’t make it to a rodeo, but we did eat authentic Texas BBQ and Tex-Mex, visit the 6th floor Kennedy Museum, and see the new Cowboys Stadium (which they refer to as “Jerry’s World”).

In 6 short days, I learned about okra, grits, and restaurants called “What-a-Burger.”  You may as well call me a cowgirl…Now I just need to go buy some boots to make it official. 🙂

~ by Serena on January 21, 2010.

8 Responses to “Dallas, Texas”

  1. Snow in Texas? That is unusual. How much do they consider a blizzard though, an inch? 8 )

    • They had about 3 inches, which practically shut down the city. They were all so excited! Meanwhile, I was mourning my dreams of a 70 degree, sunny Christmas. 🙂

  2. Yes, you certainly need cowboy boots to enhance your collection! (note that I didn’t say “complete” your collection… that can’t be expected.) And as for okra, I’ll get some when it’s in season this summer, if you’d like some fresh!

    • I KNOW – I don’t have any!
      I didn’t get to try any okra, so I’d love some…and a recipe on how to cook it! 🙂

  3. 1. what bbq place(s)?
    2. bootbarn.com is your best stop for cowgirl boots 🙂

  4. I think it is crazy Hoosiers don’t know about grits, fried okra and boiled peanuts! Where you are people living?!

    • I’ve tried grits, but I’ve still never had okra or boiled peanuts. It’s definitely a Southern thing. BUT I will say this… y’all in the South got it right with sweet tea! YUM! 🙂

  5. […] Unfortunately, I’m not going anywhere exotic, unless you consider Texas exotic.  But I do not after our fiasco there with a blizzard last year. […]

Leave a Reply

 
