Happy Anniversary!

One year ago today, I launched my blog.  I have to admit, I did so with trepidation… 

What if it becomes a chore?  If/when it does, I’ll stop.

What if I run out of things to say?  So far, so good.

What if my blogs don’t make sense?  Truth be told, I still wonder this most mornings.  I question whether my words were well-chosen, whether my thoughts were clearly communicated, whether I’m just rambling on about nonsense.  I often think, “Do people really care about my cat’s ear mites, the number of items in my check-out lane at Target, or how I’m self-conscious about having a big head?”  Regardless, I keep getting comments and readers, so I must be doing something right.

What if my ex-husband finds it?  To quote Gone With the Wind, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a d#$%.”  A  few years ago, the thought probably would have paralyzed me.  Perhaps it’s evidence of my healing, but part of me secretly hopes he reads it.  If he does, he’ll see my heart and how it has been restored.  He’ll realize that he has no power over me, and that the evil he intended has not kept me from living a full and meaningful life, while wearing leopard-print all the way.

Despite all of my initial fears, I love godandshoes.  It’s something I look forward to each day.  And I would venture to say that it has become a discipline.  I have to come up with something (hopefully) worthwhile to say, 5 days out of the week.  When I’ve missed a day – due to illness or 16 inches of snow – I’ve received emails questioning my wellbeing.  (It’s good to feel loved. :))

To celebrate one year of blog bliss, I’m off to eat a chocolate shoe.  I’m not kidding; my brother made them for me (because he rocks).  Fitting, isn’t it? 

*raising my red, high-heeled chocolate-y morsel

Here’s to many more years of blogging – and cute shoes!

~ by Serena on January 11, 2010.

6 Responses to “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. love this post serena and so glad you started a blog 🙂

  2. Thanks Serena for opening up your heart and risking vulnerability. I read once out of a book by Henri Nouwen that believers are often called out to be “wounded healers” — that is, those of us who have born wounds can minister to others who have wounds like we once had. I believe that God can use you mightily to bring knowledge of healing (and healing) to others. Although I’m in and out (haven’t necessarily gotten to read your blog every day) I do appreciate your candor and openness to share your life. It’s an inspiration.

    • Thanks, Anna. Do you have a blog, by chance?

      • No, I’m afraid I don’t… School (teaching) keeps me so busy that I usually just have time to pop in and read other people’s writings every now and then…although I do love to write. 🙂 Maybe someday.

  3. […] always said that if my blog became a chore, I would quit.  Right now, with my adrenal issues, I’m sad to say that many of my previous loves […]

Leave a Reply

 
