A Christmas Carol

It has become a fun tradition to see the IRT’s A Christmas Carol each December with some of my college friends.  Not only does it give us an excuse to dress up and eat a nice dinner, it also helps get us in the Christmas spirit. 

I’ve seen this production for 5 years now.  Each year, something different stands out to me.  This year, it was the following scene:

After visits from the Ghosts of Christmas past, present, and future, Scrooge awakes from his slumber and declares, “I’ve been given another chance. And I WILL live in the past, present, and future!”

There have been times that I have lived more in the past than the present.  Other times (with my natural planning tendencies), my focus has been more on future events. 

Now, I make a conscious effort to take the lessons I’ve learned from my past and apply them to my present but to not let them rule.  And though I will probably always be a planner, I try to keep the future there without living in it today.

Do you live in the past, present, and future?

~ by Serena on December 18, 2009.

One Response to “A Christmas Carol”

  1. Just wanted to say this is a very good question to ponder! I think I live more in the present than I used to… the future is a bit frightening, but I try not to ignore it.

Leave a Reply

 
