The Giver

A few weeks ago, I saw The Giver at the IRT.  The 90-minute show was an adaptation of the Newberry Award-winning novel The Giver by Lois Lowry.

The audience was introduced to a world where there is no war or poverty, no hunger or violence – and no color.  Each citizen is designated a role within the community.  12-year-old Jonas is chosen to become The Receiver, to solely keep the community’s long-forgotten memories of joy and sorrow. 

As he’s receiving an especially painful recollection from The Giver, he cries out in exasperation, “WHY must we remember the pain?”

The Giver simply replies, “It gives us wisdom.”

Sometimes I wish I could forget the painful times, to erase them from my memory, never to be thought of again.  And yet, no matter how hard I try, I can’t. 

Maybe instead of cringing at the very thought of them, I should instead be grateful that I can benefit from the wisdom that they bring.

~ by Serena on December 10, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Giver”

  1. I’d be curious to know if she wrote that before or after her daughter was murdered. It’s an unsolved murder, from what I remember reading.

  2. I had never even heard of The Giver prior to seeing the show. After a quick google search, I didn’t realize she was the same author who wrote the Anastasia series! I read her bio, but it didn’t mention a murdered daughter…

  3. I wonder if I am thinking of a different author!

Leave a Reply

 
