For Good

I’m obsessed with the musical Wicked, the story of the witches prior to the Wizard of Oz.  Near the end of the show, Glinda (the Good Witch) sings to Elphaba (the Wicked Witch of the West) before they part ways:

“I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason, bringing something we must learn.  And we are led to those who help us most to grow, if we let them.  And we help them in return. Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true, but I know I’m who I am today because I knew you…”

There have been people who have come into and gone out of my life that I could sing that song to (that is, if I could sing).  Friends who have taught me valuable lessons, ones who have helped me grow and learn.  Some of them walked me through the darkest days of my life.  Others helped me heal in the aftermath.  Some I have been friends with for years, others just a few months.  

Some of those friends I don’t keep in touch with any more.  But that doesn’t diminish their lasting impact.  I’m grateful for every one. 

To all of my friends, I leave you with the song’s concluding lyrics, “Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?  I do believe I have been changed for the better.  Because I knew you… I have been changed for good.”

~ by Serena on December 9, 2009.

One Response to “For Good”

  1. […] Wicked (for the 5th […]

Leave a Reply

 
