Happy Thanksg…Holidays?

I ran into a gas station last Thursday to buy the 5-inch-thick version of the Indianapolis Star.  I couldn’t wait to get home and go through all the Black Friday coupons.

As I finished checking out, the cashier said, “Happy Holidays!”

I’m sure my face showed my bewilderment.  “Happy Thanksgiving!” I replied.

“Happy Holidays!” she repeated as I walked out the door.

I couldn’t help but wonder if the clerk was instructed to only say, “Happy Holidays.” 

According to USA Today, 44% of Americans surveyed said the trend toward “Happy Holidays” is a change for the better.  43% said it wasn’t.  11% said they avoid saying “Merry Christmas” out of fear of offending someone.

Offending someone?

Personally, I find it offensive when people downplay the birth of my Savior, seeing as how He’s the reason for the holiday in the first place. 

I refuse to conform to society’s ways of secularizing Christmas by saying things like, “Seasons Greetings” and “Happy Holidays.”  And so does Chick-Fil-A.  I nearly cheered aloud as I was driving on I-465 last week and saw one of their billboards that said, “Merry Christmas!” 

And so with the Christmas season upon us, I will continue to wish gas station clerks, waitresses, and anyone else I encounter, “Merry Christmas.”  I’ll proudly send out my Christmas cards that recognize Christ’s birth.  And in the midst of it all, I will celebrate the True Reason for the season.

Happy Holidays!  Merry CHRISTmas!

~ by Serena on December 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “Happy Thanksg…Holidays?”

  1. Like it or not, holidays have been thoroughly secularized. In a way I see people saying, “Happy Holidays” as merely recognizing the fact. Really now there are two concurrent holidays: there is Christmas with Santa and people spending too much on gifts, and there is Christmas remembering the incarnation; there is Easter with the bunny and candy, and there is Easter remembering the resurrection of Christ. Most of our culture is celebrating the former holidays and not the latter ones. I personally have a distaste for the Christmas which is a glorification of consumerism, but I’ll celebrate the birth of the savior.

  2. I can attest that many folks agree holdheartedly with your assesment. We’ve received dozens and dozens of compliments at our counter on that billboard. There have been many more who have emailed or called into our Home Office thanking us for it as well. One woman in particular said it was the best Christmas present she could have asked for.

  3. Well… if you look at the etymology of the word, it was derived from the notion of “Holy Day.” So when someone says “Happy Holidays” you can just think of them as saying “Happy Holy Days!” Ha ha! 🙂

    P.S. What about those who celebrate Hannukah? I mean, it was around before Christmas and Christmas has totally stolen it’s thunder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
