Locks of Love

“I bet there’s a little redhaired girl out there who can no longer grow her hair and would love to have a wig out of your hair.”

That’s all my floormate in college had to say, and I was in.  From that moment on, I planned to grow out my hair in order to donate 10 inches to Locks of Love, a non-profit organization that donates hairpieces for financially disadvantaged children who suffer from long-term medical hair loss.

I had never even heard of the program until college, when a group of girls from my floor decided to do it.  Although my hair was probably around my shoulder blades at the time, I continued growing it out for another year before I “made the cut,” so to speak.

When the day came, the stylist didn’t make it easy on me.  “Your hair is gorgeous… are you sure you want to do this?” she asked me as she combed out my mane. 

She formed my overly thick hair into two ponytails, since one was too large to cut through.  She held the scissors in place, looked at my boyfriend, and asked, “Are you sure you’re going to let her do this?” 

“Just cut it,” I pleaded, as I squeezed my eyes shut.  I couldn’t stand to look.

Lots of cutting later…10 inches became more like 12 once they evened everything out.  I went from hair all the way down my back to hair that barely touched my chin. 

Up until that point, I never realized how much of my identity was wrapped up in my hair – and the praise it often received.  After I donated it, no one seemed to compliment it any more.  And it was more work in the mornings to make it lay nicely (since my hair has a natural wave to it).  I couldn’t grow it out fast enough.

It’s hard to believe it has been 8 years since I donated my locks.  

Now that my hair is well down my back, I often get asked if I’m going to donate again.  Probably not.  Locks of Love is an amazing cause, and I’m glad I did it.  But once was enough for me.

~ by Serena on December 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Locks of Love”

  1. So, I was thinking about commenting to tell you how terrible this post was by using big words in an arrogant tone. I was also not going to leave my name so you would think even more about what I wrote.

    Nah, I’ll be a normal blog reader today.

    Good Post. Redheads Rule!

  2. […] sophomore year of college, I donated 10 inches of my hair to Locks of Love.  Then spent the rest of college growing my hair back […]

Leave a Reply

 
