Crazy Christians

Church marquis

I’m just going to say it…Sometimes Christians drive me crazy.  Yes, I am one.  But there are certain things they do that I’d rather not be associated with.  Like the cheesy phrases they put on marquee signs.  Surely they don’t think that’s really going to attract people to Christ.

Here are a few of my “favorites”…

“The best vitamin for a Christian is B1”

“Under same management for over 2,000 years”

“Beat the Christmas rush, come to church this Sunday!”

“Don’t wait for the hearse to take you to church”

“Don’t give up. Moses was once a basket case”

“Prevent truth decay. Brush up on your Bible”

“It’s hard to stumble when you’re down on your knees!”

“Can’t sleep? Try counting your blessings”

“God answers kneemail”

*rolling my eyes

Do Christians drive you nuts?

~ by Serena on November 30, 2009.

8 Responses to “Crazy Christians”

  1. Yes, yes, yes, and yes!

    It’s all because in general, there is the feeling we have to “sell” Christianity to people and so we have to copy secular business models of bringing people in, which include catchy little slogans to show that we are modern and relevant.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. I HATE it that we rip off trendy stuff…ugh!

  3. Ironically, there’s nothing original, creative, or attractive about this blog entry either. The complaining about the fanatics or the doldrums of Christianity always has, and always will prove imminent and deafening. To counter, I maintain that church boards serve mostly to get the times of their services to the masses; and albeit cheesy, slogans provide the means to initially catch the eye. Personally, I’d prefer a church that has enough self-confidence that it can be self-deprecating every once in a while with a cheesy marquis and a wink of the eye, instead of looking over their noses or their emotional walls at those other “crazy christians” who are reaching out into culture and the community by any or every means possible. Instead of lobbing bombs of criticism and contempt at those who are, at the very least, trying, why not pull the blinding plank out of the eyes and offer some ways in which to do it better?

    For to read this post, we can infer that every marketing piece and publication that leaves your desk is original, ground-breaking, and not influenced by the trends of today or present culture by any means, right?

    I agree with you, there are certain things about Christians I’d rather not be associated with; this self-righteousness is one of them…

    • Though I don’t know who you are, your comment of “you’re better than this” implies that you know me. Whether that be in real life or through my blog, I would hope that you would also recognize my heart: that I meant no malice.

      On this, my personal blog, I offer my personal opinions. In this case, it happens to be that I find many church marquee signs to be cheesy. No more, no less.

      If I somehow offended you with my words, I sincerely apologize. However, I will never apologize for my opinion, because it is just that. Mine.

      I always welcome comments on my blog, even those that may include opinions varying from my own. I respect your opinion stated here, and I pray that you would respect mine as well.

    • Wait a minute…

      “there are certain things about Christians I’d rather not be associated with; this self-righteousness is one of them…”

      Do you really think that Christ would have criticized someone’s opinion so harshly? Nope. He would have stated his opinion in a kind and loving way.

      If you are a Christian, I would sincerely challenge you to look at the way you carry yourself. If you are not a Christian, I hope that you would appeal to some sort of ethics that do not support sarcastically tearing others down.

      You criticize Serena and accuse her of being self-righteous – and yet you don’t have the guts to write a criticism like that and leave your real name?

    • Serena, I think that was a great response to the anonymous poster. And it would truly be hard for me to think of someone who cares more for other people than you do.

      Mr./Ms. Anonymous, my heart breaks when I talk to people who don’t know Jesus and they are laughing at the very things we’re talking about…church boards as well as bad Christian knock-offs. Unfortunately, the people who most laugh about these things are seemingly being pushed away from the Gospel and the Church, not brought towards it.

      If church boards are used to get the service times out, it seems the purpose of the board is to draw people in. Unfortunately, for those who don’t go to church, it seems those clever little phrases do a much better job of turning people off than getting them through the door. So while it is important to try to reach people, the effectiveness of those methods must also be weighed. If people are to be offended, let them be offended by the Gospel, not our pithy boards!

      As for the “trendy” comments…many years ago “No Fear” shirts were very popular. Of course it didn’t take long for Christian bookstores to house “Real Fear” shirts. This is an example of Christians basically stealing something from the culture in a way that, to outsiders, looks very cheap and like an easy way to make a buck off Christians and what many term the “Christian Bubble” – people who interact very little with those who are not Christians. Can Christians produce good, quality work that does happen to be in step with the times? Yes. Work that outsiders view as good and fits with current trends? Yes. It’s the work that appears poor to the outside world that annoys me. So to question Serena’s work is unfair in this context, especially when her work has been recognized as quality by many.

      In short, I think God wants us to reach others, understand the audience He wants to reach, and do quality work. Some may not grasp this, but I do feel that some Christians, like Serena, get this, do great work, and in the process point others to Him by their lives.

    • If you don’t like what she is writing, don’t read the blog, jerk…

  4. My favorite “Come to church and read the bible, it will scare the Hell out of you”.

Leave a Reply

 
