November 12 – Part 1

DSC01360

November 12 is a big day in my family, which is why today’s post will be in three parts.  Stay tuned for more…

Today is my Mom’s birthday.  I’m not going to tell you how old she is because that’s not proper.  Suffice it to say, she’s old enough to be my Mom. 🙂

A stay-at-home Mom, she dedicated years of her life to investing in us kids, for which I’m eternally grateful.  It wasn’t until I moved out after college and got a place of my own that I realized just how much she did around the house – from laundry to groceries to meals to bills.

The following quote is written in Mom’s handwriting on their refrigerator, “A mother is only as happy as her saddest child.”  It’s true.  When I was in the depths of despair during my divorce, Mom sent me cards almost weekly to let me know I was being thought of and prayed for.  Her nurting motherly nature helps her be an excellent caretaker.  She took care of me hand and foot when I battled mono in 5th grade.  And when I had my tonsils out at 23. 

 Happy Birthday, Mom!  I love you!

~ by Serena on November 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
