Funeral Etiquette

The cow goes mooToday I’m publishing my second Guest Blog.  My friend Ben, the author, shares my dislike of funerals.  He sent me an e-mail recently where he “stepped on his soapbox” about funeral etiquette…or, more accurately, lack thereof.  I got a kick out of his candid sarcasm and asked if he’d like to share it with my blog audience.  You know, since I love the topic of funerals so much. 🙂 Thanks, Ben!

After sitting through three funerals in the last three weeks, I recently became aware of the lack of “funeral etiquette” that exists.  Here is a small list of faux pas I noticed:

Electronic devices: Is it really necessary to have to instruct attendees to please turn of all cellular, pager, and other noise-making devices? (This includes Billy’s gameboy, and Sally’s pull-string toy that repeats, “The cow goes moo.” 10 times.)

Attire:  While some events are hard to predict and plan, perhaps jeans and a t-shirt pulled out of the dirty laundry is not the best attire to wear to a viewing.

Children: A child walked up to the casket, looked at the body, and shouted “Eeew!”  Also, do you really want your child playing with the corpse?  Let’s keep a closer watch on our children, shall we?

Chatter: During a viewing, after paying respects, it is customary to talk to other attendees and reminisce about joyous stories and fond memories of the deceased.  However, during the service (at full volume) is probably not the best time.

Time frames:  People showed up to the funeral and viewing 2 hours early, when the family was spending their allotted time with the loved-one.  Ummm…How were you related again?

Exits:  Once you KNOW the service HAS STARTED, is it necessary to exit through the noisiest door (yes, allowing it to slam) and then re-enter through that door (again, allowing it to slam)?

 Have you noticed a lack of funeral etiquette?

~ by Serena on October 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “Funeral Etiquette”

  1. I agree I think there is a lack of etiquette in general everywhere. Etiquette during a church service would be nice especially staying seated or not entering while the pastor is praying. Wait quietly and then enter when the prayer is finished.

  2. It is said that we are supposed to rejoyce at a death and cry at a birth (very hard indeed to do). I witnessed rejoyceing one time several years ago during the visitation and I have to admit it was very uplifting and left me feeling happy for the deceased as she was no longer hurting. I am sure there are many takes on things such as this, but this was an actual experience for me.

Leave a Reply

 
