“I want to be…”

Kroger“What do you want to be when you grow up?” I asked my niece, Anna, while babysitting a few weeks ago.

She thought for a moment before she blurted out, “A Mommy.”  I probably could have guessed since she carried her “baby” under her arm most of the weekend.

When I was little, I wanted to be a check out girl at Kroger.  Somehow, I thought it looked like a fun job with the conveyor belt and cash registers.

In elementary school, I wanted to be a teacher, probably because of the wonderful female role models I had over the years.

In high school, my aspirations vacillated greatly.  For a while, I wanted to be a lawyer.  Then I realized I don’t like to argue.  So it became a principal.  Until I realized I’d have to deal with a lot of conflict (for a middle child peacemaker, that didn’t sound fun).  I finally graduated with the goal of becoming an optometrist.  Then I found out I’d have to work on cadavers.  No, thank you.

I took a job skills placement test in college, and one of my top suggested jobs was a florist.  I assume this is because of my love for beauty and creativity, but it was far too closely associated with funeral homes for my taste.

I finally ended up with a Communications degree, which is a beautiful fit for me since I love writing and public speaking. 

What do you want to be when you grow up?

~ by Serena on October 6, 2009.

2 Responses to ““I want to be…””

  1. Do I have to grow up?

  2. “I don’t wanna grow up, I’m a Toys R Us kid…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
