Proverbs 31 Woman

Woman in gardenThe Proverbs 31 Woman is a business woman, seamstress, and gardener.  In her spare time, she mentors and serves others.  She’s generous, wise, respected, a planner, and a hard worker.

…And I’m supposed to live up to this? 

She’s the elusive standard for Christian women; she is the epitome of all I should be and yet will never live up to.  Most days I hate the mere thought of her.  Other days I’m up for the challenge and appreciate the example of what we (as women) are to be. 

How do you feel about the Proverbs 31 Woman?

~ by Serena on October 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “Proverbs 31 Woman”

  1. I’ve heard that originally the idea was to instruct men in the wisdom of having a wife of character, rather than just looking at external beauty. (It appears that this may have been part of a rhyme that King Lemuel’s mother taught him.) If this is the case, it’s kind of ironic that it is now usually taken as a standard that Christian women are supposed to attempt to live up to. Even then however, the overall thrust isn’t that a woman should work to the point of exhaustion. Rather it is that she “fears the LORD”, cares for her family, and for the poor and needy too. In other words, she loves God and loves others–just what all of us who follow Christ are supposed to be doing.

  2. Interesting take, Doug… I don’t think I ever heard it put that way. Maybe I slept through that lesson in my Old Testament class. 🙂 I love that you apply it to all of us, not just women.

    Regardless, it takes some pressure off me, which is a good thing, since I definitely can’t sew and don’t really have a green thumb.

Leave a Reply

 
