“Have you heard…?”

ostrich“Have you heard…?” my friend asks.

Before he even finishes the question, I interrupt with my answer, “No.”

It’s a running joke between us.  I’m oblivious to most of the world’s happenings, and he knows it.  So he’ll often start out a current event story with, “Have you heard about…?” 

I think I was the last person in the world to hear that Patrick Swayze died.  And I had no idea of the Kanye West debacle – other than seeing mention of it on Facebook.

People will ask, “Don’t you want to know when…(fill in the blank with an important happening)?”  Not really.  If it’s a big enough event, I’ll hear about it through the grapevine. 

There’s good reason for my naiveté: I rarely watch TV or read newspapers, and I never watch the news.  It depresses me.  It seems like all I hear about are stories of robbery, theft, rape, or murder.  It’s not the way I want to spend my evening.

Part of me would rather remain naïve to the realities of the world around me, though I fully realize that sticking my head in the sand doesn’t make it any better.

Do you keep up with current events?

~ by Serena on September 30, 2009.

2 Responses to ““Have you heard…?””

  1. I’m kind of with you on this one, though I occasionally scan over the news online… Oh, and I do often listen to NPR in the morning–I have it set as my alarm. That tends to catch me up on the news more than anything.

  2. Then you’re WAAAAY ahead of me! I don’t even do talk radio! It’s my iPod all the way…

Leave a Reply

 
