Lasik

060919_-_Serena's_Lasik_SurgeryThree years ago this week, I underwent Lasik (vision correction laser surgery).  Yes, that’s a picture of me during the surgery to the left.

I have to admit, I was a little (okay, a lot) nervous going into it.  After all, I could potentially lose my eyesight if something went awry. 

I was fully conscious during the surgery.  The ophthalmologist explained what she was doing as she did it.  Numbing eye drops.  Propping my eyes open.  Cutting the cornea.  Flipping back the flap. 

Then came the laser.  She instructed me to stare directly at the red light – and to not be frightened by the noise.  I’ve never stared so hard at one spot in my entire life. 

They flipped my cornea back, smoothed it over, and it was done.  The entire process took about 10 minutes per eye. 

I was instructed to go home, take a sleeping pill, and rest the remainder of the day.  And under no circumstances was I to remove the large plastic goggles.

When I woke up the next morning, I removed the obtrusive eyewear.  For the first time since I was 5, I was able to open my eyes and see without correction.  My vision was crystal clear.  I felt like the hand of God had touched my eyes.  It was simply amazing!  I sat in my bed and stared around my room, noticing details that previously would have required correction.

If I have any side effects, it would be that I struggle to drive at night.  The laser “engraved” my eyeglasses prescription on my eyes, so when light comes at it (especially in the dark), it can reflect, like light does when it shines through crystal.

In the end, it was entirely worth it.  I’m incredibly happy with the results (20/15 vision!) – and highly recommend it to anyone considering the surgery.  I’ll even gladly recommend my ophthalmologist.

~ by Serena on September 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Lasik”

  1. How wonderful this sounds!! A few years ago my opthalmologist informed me, in his acerbic New Jersey accent, that I would get lasik surgery over his dead body. He has since moved to a different state, but I still don’t dare… and I know my eyes are messed up enough that the good doctor had valid reason for his threat. You have such beautiful eyes, Serena, and I’m thrilled that we can see them. And that you can see so well!

  2. Thanks, Angie! I didn’t realize you had “messed up” eyes. 😦 I’m thankful that you can see with correction!

Leave a Reply

 
