The Amazing Body

Bam!I took a big fall a few weeks ago while running down some cement steps.  I tried to catch myself but in the process scraped and bruised my left arm pretty badly.  (In the aftermath, I realized how often I don’t get hurt.  So I was admittedly a big baby about the whole thing.) 

Within 24 hours, my body was already bringing plasma to the surface of the skin to heal the wound.  After a week, the skin had grown back together.  A few days later, my bruising and swelling had gone down significantly, and my arm looked nearly normal.

Like I said, I don’t get injured that often.  So watching this wound heal was fascinating for me.  I’ve been in awe of the incredible way God formed our bodies. 

Think about it…Our skin heals wounds, our hearts beat and pump blood, our lungs transport oxygen, our stomachs digest food… and the list goes on.  And it all happens with little to no effort on our part. 

Pretty amazing, indeed.  Thanks, God…

“Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God- you’re breathtaking!  Body and soul, I am marvelously made!  I worship in adoration – what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something.” -Psalm 139:13-15 (The Message)

~ by Serena on September 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
