The Least of These

Star Wars copyI’ll call him Jay.  He is a 30-something-year-old volunteer at my church who suffers from Schizophrenia.  Although he is able to live alone and function somewhat normally, he is extremely unkempt, to the point that after he leaves our office, we spray it down with Febreeze because his stench lingers.  He usually has evidence of his lunch dribbled down his shirt, and on a consistent basis, he forgets to zip his fly.

He used to come in once a week to help us stuff bulletins.  Every Friday we would stuff bulletins at the same time and same place.  Jay would call me or visit the office multiple times a week to make sure that we’re going to stuff bulletins, even though we stuffed every Friday at the same time and same place. 

Jay also lacks social skills.  Schizophrenics often become obsessed with something; Jay is obsessed with movies.  He would often loudly interrupt other normal conversation while we were stuffing bulletins to ask if anyone has seen any good movies lately – or to talk about his favorite movies – the Star Wars series.  I don’t really watch many movies, and when I do, I’m not really a fan of Sci-Fi ones, so it’s really the last thing I want to talk about.

I was complaining about how much he frustrates me a few months ago to one of my good friends.  His response was something like, “I know he’s frustrating, but Christ calls us to love the least of these, and Jay certainly qualifies.” 

 *conviction

I started praying that Christ would allow me to see Jay through His eyes, not my own.  Admittedly, I still struggle to LOVE him, necessarily, but I have found that I have a LOT more compassion on him and patience with him than I did before. 

Are you loving the least of these?

“‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”   -Matthew 25:40

~ by Serena on August 28, 2009.

One Response to “The Least of These”

  1. Thank you for the needed reminder, Serena!

Leave a Reply

 
