Legacy

legacy_mainSlideWe recently finished a Legacy series at church, where we studied some key figures in the Old Testament and the legacies they left behind.

It got me thinking about what kind of legacy I’m leaving.  Like Nicole Nordeman says in the song Legacy, “I wanna leave a legacy, How will they remember me?” 

As a homework assignment, my high school Sociology teacher asked us to come up with what we wanted to put on our tombstones.  (Morbid, right?)  At 18- years-old (and feeling invincible), all I could come up with was my name, birth date and death date.  How pathetic is that?

10 years later with a lot of life under my belt, I want to leave a legacy that accurately reflects my heart and passions.  One that my family will be proud of.  One that paves the way for future generations. 

So, though my homework assignment may be quite tardy, here’s what I would put on my tombstone (though I’d much rather be cremated. Not that I’ll know the difference.)…

She encouraged us with her words.  She inspired us with her laugh.  She wow-ed us with her shoes.

What legacy do you want to leave?

~ by Serena on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
