Heaven

cloudsDo you ever think about what heaven will be like?  I imagine glorious music, pearly gates, streets of gold, incredible brightness, and overwhelming joy.  

As much as I hate the idea of death and dying, my soul desires the comforts and coziness of “going home.”  I long to see lost loved ones and meet this great cloud of witnesses.  I’m hoping it will be so amazingly magnificent that I can’t even begin to describe it.

And yet several musicians have put words to it…

Audio Adrenaline’s take in Big House is that heaven is a “Big, big house with lots and lots of rooms.  A big, big table with lots and lots of food.  A big, big yard, where we can play football.”

MercyMe’s song Finally Home claims, “I’m gonna wrap my arms around my Daddy’s neck and tell him that I’ve missed him…When I finally make it home.” 

I Can Only Imagine by MercyMe says, “Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel?  Will I dance for You Jesus, or in awe of You be still?  Will I stand in Your presence, or to my knees will I fall?  Will I sing Hallelujah?  Will I be able to speak at all?  I can only imagine.”

Sara Groves sings in What Do I Know, “I don’t know that there are harps in heaven or the process for earning your wings. I don’t know of bright lights at the end of tunnels or any of these things. But I know that to be absent from this body is to be present with the Lord.  And what I know of Him, that must be very good.”

I can only imagine how awesome it will be when I’m finally home to the Big House in heaven.  But, then again, what do I know? 😉

~ by Serena on August 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “Heaven”

  1. I recommend Randy Alcorn’s book “Heaven” if you haven’t already read it. Great great book that gives insight into what Heaven, and particularly the New Earth, will be like. It really helps you live with a Heavenly mindset and anticipate that day of homecoming.

  2. Oh, Evan… you should know by now that I don’t read. 🙂

  3. Thanks for praying for me, friend!

Leave a Reply

 
