Japan: Miki

SerenaMikiThis will be my last post about Japan for a while.  There are so many more stories and details to share, so if you are interested, feel free to ask. 🙂

I fell in love with a little girl in Japan.  Her name is Miki (pronounced MeeKee).  She is four months old, and she looks like a mini Michelin Man.  As I held her in my arms, something maternal moved within me.  I can’t express the incredible draw I felt toward this little girl.  I couldn’t stop staring at her.  I looked into her big eyes and prayed that she would come to know the One true God, that she would grow in wisdom and truth, that she would make an impact for the Kingdom. 

I thought I was called to Tokyo to minister to Kindergarten-5th graders.   Instead, I fell in love with a 4-month-old.  Frankly, this perplexed me.  After discussing it with a friend recently, she asked, “Did Miki say anything to you?” 

Serena:  “No, she’s only four months old.” 

Friend:  “Why did you fall in love with her?”

Serena:  “She didn’t have to do anything.  I liked her just because she was her, I guess.”

Friend:  “Maybe God wants you to know that that’s how He views you.  You don’t have to say or do anything, even go to Japan.  He loves you for who you are…just because you’re you.”

*tears

Who knows?  Maybe I was supposed to go to Japan for the sole reason of falling in love with a little girl, only to then relate it to how God feels about me.  Admittedly, I’m still praying about it – and if my future may include an international adoption at some point.

Regardless, there’s a little girl in Japan named Miki who stole my heart.

~ by Serena on August 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
