Honey, I’m hoooooome!

home-sweet-homeHome has been on my mind a lot lately, probably because I’ve been craving it for the last 10 days.  There’s something comforting about it.  It’s the familiar, the known.

I get the same cozy feeling when I go back to Wabash, my hometown.  Each time I drive through the Cut headed North on Highway 13 and see the shrubs that spell “Wabash,” I know I’m getting close.  I greatly anticipate being in the presence of those who know and love me, those who care for me.

It has become a joke with my brother that we can’t go to the Wabash Wal-Mart without running into someone we know.  And it’s true.  A church member.  A former bus driver.  A classmate from high school.  It’s like the theme song from Cheers says, “Sometimes you like to go where everybody knows your name.” 

While I had a wonderful time in Japan (more blog entries to come as I continue to process), I couldn’t help but long to go home… to be where everybody knows my name, let alone can pronounce it. 

I’m reminded of Chris Daughtry’s song Home (the first song I played on my ipod as we began our long journey), “I’m going home, to the place where I belong, where your love has always been enough for me…but these places and these faces are getting old, so I’m going home.”

…I couldn’t be happier to be here.

~ by Serena on August 5, 2009.

4 Responses to “Honey, I’m hoooooome!”

  1. Glad you are back home safe and sound, Serena. As the saying goes, “be it ever so humble, there is no place like home”.

  2. Or I always feel at home when going through the cut into Wabash during the Christmas season, when I can see the lights on the top of the courthouse, seeming to shape a Christmas tree. 🙂 And even though ten more years have passed (in comparison with you), it’s still rare that I go into the Wabash Wal-Mart without seeing somebody I know. There is indeed something special about “home.”

    And I’m glad you made it back safely – it was nice to read the updates and see photos, but it will be neat to hear about it as you’re “processing.”

    ~Angie

  3. I completely know what you mean about Wal-Mart. I get nervous going because my memory is so bad — I’m afraid I won’t remember a name or a reason that I know someone from long ago.

Leave a Reply

 
