“What’s in a name?” -Shakespeare

NameI never liked my name in elementary school because it was different.  Why couldn’t I have a common name that everyone knew how to spell – like Stephanie?  No one had ever heard of my name until Serena Williams came along. 

My name comes from the root word “Serene,” which means “free and clear of or storms or unpleasant change; shining bright and steady; and suggestive or utter calm and unruffled repose and quietude.” 

Sometimes I have moments of calm.  Other times, it’s the farthest thing from my life.

Just because you give a name to something, it doesn’t mean it will carry its name’s attributes.  For example, I could name a dog “Cat,” but it doesn’t make it one. 

I was driving recently when I saw a company truck “Fast and Friendly Plumbing.”  I chuckled when I saw it.  Just because you name your company that, it doesn’t mean the service will be so ideal. 

Likewise, just because someone claims the title of “Christian,” doesn’t mean they are one.  According to a recent poll on yahoo, 86% of the U.S. population polled claim to be Christians.  If that were the case, I have a feeling this world would be a much better place.

What does your name mean?  Does your life reflect values of a Christian (if you are one)?

~ by Serena on July 20, 2009.

3 Responses to ““What’s in a name?” -Shakespeare”

  1. where does one find out how to find out what their name means?

  2. My name (Amanda) is Latin, and it means one who must be loved, or one who will always be loved. I believe that my name is an exception: because I know that God will always have unending love for me, my family, and my friends. Now, I just have to earn it: by giving more love back to God than I should have in the first place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
