Hattitude

hatMy ex-husband used to tell me that I had a big head.  He meant it literally… that I physically had a large noggin.  And, as a result, he told me that I should never wear hats.  As with most things, I did as he instructed.

One year post-divorce, one of my friends gave me a sock hat. I kindly explained that couldn’t accept his gracious gift due to the fact that I have a big head and, therefore, should not wear hats.  He burst out laughing.

What?!  I asked, defensively.

You don’t have a big head!  He said, chuckling.

Yes, I do!

No, you don’t!  He insisted.

I’ve come a long way with my “big head” complex.  I own a Colts hat that I’ll occasionally wear, but I admittedly feel conspicuous in it. 

I’ve always said that when I’m old, I’ll wear a hat to church.  I’m not sure what age is considered “old,” but I’m not there yet. 

I saw a play at the IRT a few months ago called Crowns, which was all about hats.  They claimed that you have to have a certain “hattitude” in order to pull off a hat. 

Perhaps it isn’t an age issue at all for me.  Maybe “hattitude” is what I’m lacking.

~ by Serena on July 15, 2009.

9 Responses to “Hattitude”

  1. you can have some of mine! I’ve got plenty of hattitude for the both of us! Considering all I do is wear hats…haha.

  2. Its really, uh, smart don’t you think? You know black is this year’s pink. You deserve each other – this hat and you – you’re both so….smart. You deserve each other, so here – out of the goodness of my heart.

  3. 2 things:

    I know all of the Wicked Soundtrack (see above)

    You don’t have the big head. I do. I wore an XL football helmet. 🙂

  4. CLEVER! I love that song! (I have the soundtrack memorized, too!)

  5. What do you think, Zorak? 🙂

  6. I remember the show “Blossom” when I was in junior high or so… she always wore a canvas hat with a large, daisy-ish flower. I sorta thought it was fun, and I purchased my first “blossom” hat in college. I think you would look lovely wearing a hat, my beautiful friend!

  7. Awww… thank you. And I think I’ve seen you in your Blossom hat!

  8. […] really care about my cat’s ear mites, the number of items in my check-out lane at Target, or how I’m self-conscious about having a big head?”  Regardless, I keep getting comments and readers, so I must be doing something […]

  9. […] I wear my only hat (since I have a big head, remember?), I feel […]

Leave a Reply

 
