It Must Be a Midwest Thing

yard geese

It wasn’t until I was in college that other students educated me about some unique treasures found in the Midwest.  Prior to that time, I assumed they were universal… since it’s all I ever knew.  Here are some gems that are exclusive to the Midwest:

Yard Geese – Personally, I’ve never understood this phenomenon. Dressing up a plastic goose and putting it on your lawn?   Tacky.  Very tacky.

Sugar Cream Pie – One of my college friends from South Dakota had never heard of sugar cream pie prior to living in Indiana.  We always have this delicacy at our holidays; it’s my grandpa’s favorite!

Mashed Potatoes and Noodles – This is my family’s specialty.  Mom and Grams make the best beef and noodles, which we then eat with mashed potatoes.  A friend from college (originally from Florida) lovingly deemed this “starch on starch” and thought it was weird.

Headless Windmills – I don’t think this is necessarily on purpose, but they’re everywhere!  Seriously. 

Handbreaded Pork Tenderloin Sandwich – My United Methodist church growing up had a tenderloin booth at the 4-H Fair every summer.  Yum!  Tenderloins were the subject of a documentary film in 1998 called In Search of the Famous Hoosier Breaded Tenderloin.   Apparently the best can be found at Mr. Dave’s Restaurant in North Manchester, Indiana, just a few miles North of where I grew up.

What did I miss? 

~ by Serena on July 9, 2009.

4 Responses to “It Must Be a Midwest Thing”

  1. Corn…lots and lots of corn…haha

  2. Unsweetened Sun Tea
    Basketball goals in EVERY driveway or on the side of the barn

  3. Euchre

  4. “pop” rather than “soda” (or “coke” meaning any type of carbonated soft drink)

Leave a Reply

 
