Happily Ever After?

happily ever afterReality is that I’m not a princess and I don’t live in a castle, yet I often find myself searching for my “Happily Ever After.”

It can be difficult at times watching my friends find theirs.  One is falling in love and is in that “He’s all she can think and talk about” stage.  Another just had a baby.  Another bought a house.  Another got a new, amazing job with a new, amazing pay raise. 

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m happy for them.  But at times I find myself looking around thinking, “Where’s my happily ever after?” 

I consciously know that marriage, babies, homes, and lots of money are not an automatic prescription for happiness.  But they all have the potential to be very good things.  And so I find myself desiring them. 

I can’t help but wonder…if these desires of my heart never get met, will I be content to live my life, just me and God?

Then again, maybe this IS my happily ever after.  After all, the only person in charge of my happiness is me.

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.” -Philippians 4:11

~ by Serena on July 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “Happily Ever After?”

  1. It’s rare that a “happily ever after” ever looks like we thought it would… God works in ways we cannot predict or foresee, doesn’t He?

  2. I hear ya.

Leave a Reply

 
