Here’s a Tip…

dollar

I understand tipping a waiter/waitress, because he/she has served me a meal.  They are given a minimal hourly rate and mostly rely on tips for their pay. 

We tip bellhops.  We tip the people at the airport who take our luggage.  We tip the maitre’d, babysitters, and valet drivers.  We tip the hostess at our favorite restaurant in order to get preferred seating.  Not to mention the usher who walks us to our seats at the Indians game.

I tip my hairdresser, my manicurist, and my massage therapist.  

Hotels have started leaving envelopes in rooms with a message from housekeeping, essentially asking for money if the stay was satisfactory. 

According to an article I read recently, I’m also supposed to “tip” my mailman at Christmas.  And my personal trainer.  And the garbage man.  (Really?)

I’m not trying to be stingy, but seriously… where does it end?

~ by Serena on July 7, 2009.

4 Responses to “Here’s a Tip…”

  1. I’m with you…enough is enough!

  2. That was a really great blog post. One of the best ever.

    For that wonderful compliment, could I have a tip? 😉

  3. And then you go to Japan where it’s somewhat offensive to leave a tip.

  4. We give God 10%
    We give Waitresses 10-15%

    Hmmm……

Leave a Reply

 
