Wednesdays With Esther

Esther2Seven years ago tomorrow, my good friend Esther died.  When I was growing up, I attended the same small country church she and her husband did.  Esther went into a nursing home near my college, so I visited her every Wednesday.  I have sweet memories of our times together, and I miss her dearly.  In hopes of keeping her memory alive, I’m going to share the eulogy I gave at her funeral…

It has been said that, “Good friends are hard to find, harder to leave, and impossible to forget.”  Although there was a 74 year age difference between me and Esther, she was my good friend. 

I would visit her about once a week.  We would talk and laugh, read Bible stories and poetry, and sing hymns.  I think the thing I’ll miss the most is just sharing with her.  I loved hearing how she and Eldon met through her sister and how they traveled. “3 continents,” she would say. “Not bad for a country girl like me.” 

While Esther and I always reminisced, she always wanted to know what was going on in my life and about my family.  I would visit her after a long day at school and vent.  She would intently listen to every word I said.  She truly cared, and that meant the world to me.  I always left feeling better than when I arrived.  I know Esther appreciated my visits, but I was equally blessed, as I would soak in her wisdom, joy, thankfulness, generosity, and most importantly, her love. 

Truly, the 4th of July was a day of Independence as Esther gained her freedom.  Freedom from a body that prevented her from doing what she wanted, freedom from an environment where she could only, “Hurry up and wait,” as she would say.  She now has the freedom to dance and sing praises to her Creator with her dearly-missed husband, Eldon. 

Esther was a special, Godly woman who touched the lives of many, myself included.  I praise God for her life, her ministry, and the time I was blessed to spend with her.  She will be greatly missed, but there’s no greater place she could be.  I look forward to seeing her again some day, when we can write our own poetry, make heavenly music, and ask Jesus to tell us Bible stories.  What a day of rejoicing that will be!  The day that I meet my Lord and the day that begins eternity with my good friend.

~ by Serena on July 3, 2009.

One Response to “Wednesdays With Esther”

  1. […] shared about a significant loss in my life – Esther, a dear friend who died in 2002.  (Who knew that 8.5 years after her death Esther would still be […]

Leave a Reply

 
